12 former Australians of the Year wrote to the PM – will you?

“12 former Australians of the Year want Malcolm Turnbull to intervene over refugees trapped on Manus Island”

This article was published on 23rd Nov 2017.
But so much of the letter is still relevant.  
  • In the lead up to Australia Day 2018, be inspired by these former Australians of the Year and write a letter to the media, to a politician.
“We believe that it is time to stop the unacceptable and internationally criticised treatment of the refugees on Manus Island, who, though innocent of any crime, have been incarcerated and now abandoned there.

“This treatment does not represent who we are as Australians, or indeed as human beings.”

The letter was signed by Australians of the Year
  • 2015 Rosie Batty
  • 2013 Ita Buttrose
  • 2011 Simon McKeon
  • 2010 Patrick McGorry
  • 2009 Mick Dodson
  • 2007 Tim Flannery
  • 2005 Fiona Wood
  • 2003 Fiona Stanley
  • 2000 Gustav Nossal
  • 1997 Peter Doherty
  • 1996 John Yu
  • 1983 Robert de Castella
CANBERRA, AUSTRALIA – JANUARY 25: 2015 Australian of the Year Rosie Batty poses during the 2015 Australian of the Year Awards at Parliament House on January 25, 2015 in Canberra, Australia. (Photo by Stefan Postles/Getty Images)