Daylesford RAR

5pm every Friday, outside the Post Office Round about. Come join us & don’t forget to toot your support.









19 July 2018 – Daylesford and District’s Rural Australians for Refugees Group members gathered for an hour of somber vigil in Vincent Street to mark five years of Australia’s off shore detention policy and the Australian Government’s decision to detain asylum seekers off shore on Manus Island and Nauru.

For further information about Daylesford RAR contact –  

Join us on Facebook

Hepburn welcomes refugees

The Shire of Hepburn has formally declared itself a refugee welcome zone, with about 100 people attending a public meeting at the Daylesford Town Hall yesterday.

Frank Page from the Daylesford Neighbourhood House Learning Centre says some of the things discussed include providing respite for refugees in holiday accommodation across the shire, and continuing support for refugees still in detention.

“The Shire of Hepburn have obviously declared in a very public way their commitment to this concept and are now one of something like 50 municipalities across Australia that have done so,” he said.

“There are several other municipalities close to us here in Daylesford that have done likewise, for instance the Mount Alexander Shire and I think the greater city of Bendigo.”

Return to list of RAR Groups in Victoria

« Return to list of RAR Groups