The Welcome Scroll

The Welcome Scroll was launched at
the Rural Australians for Refugees 
National Conference
in September 2016.  

It is an initiative of …

  • Rural Australians for Refugees (RAR)
  • Refugee Council of Australia (RCOA)
  • Refugee Welcome Zone Councils (RWZ) 

Welcome Scroll Newsletter June 2018


Welcome Scroll Launch at RAR Conf in Bendigo


The Welcome Scroll’s National Journey was launched in Melbourne by Melbourne’s Lord Mayor.

The Scroll went on display at the Immigration Museum in June, before travelling to Canberra (ACT) and SE NSW – Cooma, Bega, Eurobodalla, Braidwood, Queanbeyan, Bowral, Shellharbour, Wollongong, Goulburn, Yass, and Wagga Wagga before returning to Victoria, stopping to visit Euroa. 

In September it was displayed at the Kensington Town Hall (Melbourne) at the Victorian Local Government Multicultural Issues Network Annual Forum:  Communities Without Borders: Council Collaboration for Social Cohesion.  

And then off to Gippsland where it visited Pakenham (Cardinia Shire), before returning to Melbourne for a visit to the City of Greater Dandenong.


In March the Scroll visited Ballarat and was signed by Mayor Susanna McIntosh, as part of Ballarat’s Harmony Day celebrations.

In June the Scroll visited Swan Hill, Mildura, Port Adelaide Enfield, City of Adelaide, Murray Bridge and Mount Gambier.

In October the Scroll travelled to Gisborne to be a part of the Macedon Ranges Shire Refugee Welcome Zone Ceremony, and then on to Dubbo (NSW), Toowoomba and Ipswich(Queensland), Coffs Harbour, Newcastle, Lake Macquarie and Ryde (NSW).

In December the Scroll will visit Stawell (Victoria)

2019 – plans are already being made for visits to Western Australia and Tasmania.

For more information email:  


The Welcome Scroll was presented to
Rural Australians for Refugees by its maker, Max Govett.

I would like to acknowledge the City of Greater Bendigo for supporting this project, especially the work of the design team – headed up by Chris and Lena.



Photo Below:
Mayor Christine Henderson, Mt Alexander Shire, and Mayor Rod Fyffe, City of Greater Bendigo, are the first Refugee Welcome Zone councils to sign on to the Welcome Scroll


From this in 2016RARConf030916 Dunn 28City of Greater Bendigo and Mt Alexander Shire were the first Refugee Welcome Zone councils to sign on to the Welcome Scroll

To this … Cardinia Shire in 2017

… and still growing …

In Port Adelaide 2018

In Mt Gambier 2018

The Welcome Scroll.

The National Journey of the Welcome Scroll is a reminder to us all of local government and community support for successful resettlement of refugees in Australia.

The Welcome Scroll will function as a “baton” or “torch”, which will travel around Australia to Refugee Welcome Zones, leaving the National Rural Australians for Refugees Conference in Bendigo on 3rd September 2016.

Refugee Welcome Zones and the Welcome Scroll
It is hoped that the Welcome Scroll will be endorsed by representatives of all Local Councils who have chosen to become Refugee Welcome Zones.  The Scroll’s journey will confirm Local Government commitment to welcome refugees into our communities.

Unfortunately, it will not be possible to have the Welcome Scroll visit every Refugee Welcome Zone.   Therefore we invited all Refugee Welcome Zones to send an electronic signature or endorsement to be printed onto the Welcome Scroll in Bendigo prior to its journey around Australia.

The Welcome Scroll visits Bega in NSW.  Bega Valley Mayor Kristy McBain



From the Bendigo Advertiser: 3 Sept, 2016

Bendigo leads the way

The Welcome Scroll is not a petition but a message of support for refugees from communities across Australia. It will journey through Australia’s Refugee Welcome Zones.

The Scroll [was] launched as part of the Rural Australians for Refugees conference in Bendigo this weekend.

Rural Australians for Refugees is joining forces with the Refugee Council of Australia and Local Government. 

“There is widespread and genuine local government and community support for policies and programs that lead to the successful resettlement of refugees.”

Ms Govett said the Welcome Scroll will travel through all states of Australia.

“The Welcome Scroll will be endorsed by representatives of those councils who have chosen to become Refugee Welcome Zones,” she said.

“The scroll, which features impressive hand-turned redgum handles, will function as a baton as it passes from council to council, spreading the welcome message throughout Australia.

“The Scroll’s journey will confirm local government commitment to welcome refugees into our communities.”

See also: